School Artwork Inspired Quilt

Thanks to my recent struggle with a rotator cuff injury, I had a steroid shot this morning. The shot is not as painful as expected but I’m taking a little break from sewing for a couple days. In the meantime I plan to work on the design of my next quilt: various ideas are drifting though my head. A fun part of the process.

In the meantime, thought I’d revisit some old quilts I’ve made in the past. Today I want to share a quilt I made for one of my daughters when she was in grade school.Image

This quilt design was based on my daughter’s artwork when she was in about 3rd grade. The assignment was to make a watercolor based on a Georgia O’Keefe painting. Her watercolor was scanned and made into a flexible web applique. My daughter chose the fabric colors and with her help on the design, this became her Christmas present one year. I was a little slow to get it completed so after the festivities, I finished sewing the binding. 🙂 At least she did get it on Christmas Day. Button quilted.

 

Leave a Reply

